Copyright vs mashup video

Now I’m in trouble.

I was thinking for quite a while about how to write this post without sounding patronizing. Well, I could lie but, as my favourite subscriber helped me realize, I shouldn’t be editing myself but be myself. So there it goes:

I HAVE NEVER DOWNLOADED MUSIC OR MOVIES IN MY LIFE.  Yeah, I know- I’m different. After all everybody does it and they even make me feel bad that I don’t, like I was stupid to pay for something they can get for free. But can they really?Don’t get me wrong. I listen to music all the time, though I’m not a fan of any particular artist or genre. I use internet radios to find something interesting but then I order it on vinyl or buy a CD. And I’m not even a DJ, I just like the sound of my Shure pickup. I am a huge fan of films and gathered quite large collection of DVD’s. I am also a member of two rental places and I simply cannot believe that illegal downloads can provide similar quality of experience as the real thing!! I hate listening to bad MP3’s and don’t know why someone would like to watch a film recorded from under a cinema seat! So there- that’s my view on illegal downloads.

Remixing, on the other hand, reusing other people’s work is, in my opinion, a totally different thing. And that’s where the Creative Commons comes in. Inspiring, exciting idea of a different type of protection for music, video, pictures and all sorts of intellectual property. Where some people will always stand by the Copyright law I’d like to see a world in which more than a half of all creative work is licensed under the double c and shared freely between us. What a beautiful world that would be. Sharing ideas and inspiring creativity without the medieval noose of Copyright law hanging over our heads. Now that would be something! We are living in a society that thrives on repeats, remakes and reproduction. Did any of you watched Robot Chicken or Family Guy? Their use of icons and recognizable stories is so ‘in your face’ that it becomes their ‘thing‘. It’s a social commentary, right? So why can’t we all do it? We quote ‘Star Wars’ and ‘The Godfather’ on a daily basis, we use quotes from TV shows in our day-to-day conversations so why not do it on the net? It’s just so natural.

Well than, I’ll upload my first mushup video to show you what I mean…..

Copyright vs mashup video

18 thoughts on “Copyright vs mashup video

  1. It gets on my nerves when people quote films.. They just dont do it justice.
    The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the iniquities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy My brothers. And you will know My name is the Lord when I lay My vengeance upon thee.
    Thats my fav!

  2. Ian says:

    Great post. It’s a real skill making people think about things they wouldn’t normally think about. You should be a musicologist or something.

  3. Really enjoyed the mash up,I also really liked the perspective you pointed out to me regarding what we recycle face to face in terms of film and television and what we aren’t allowed to say or do via the net. Great post 🙂

  4. Wow that made me think about Family Guy and Robot Chicken, thats right those two shows would be nothing without other people’s work and creations, and I love Family Guy is great. Also I never used to download until I came to university and had a good quality download speed at an unlimited premium, then I started big time!!!!! Films, TV shows, Music, Software and Games.

Leave a comment